Skip to main content

Engineering research

Our research

Exeter Engineering is a growing multi-disciplinary General Engineering department of 80 research active staff. We are organised into eight research groups (Nano Engineering Science & Technology, Water and Environment, Materials and Manufacturing, Engineering Management, Civil and Structures, Renewable Energy, and Responsible Mining) across two University campuses. Six of these are located on the Streatham campus in Exeter. The Responsible Mining group is part of the multidisciplinary Camborne School of Mines and is located, along with our Renewable Energy group, at Penryn in Cornwall.

As a department we seek to build on our strong international influence as well as cultivate a significant regional presence in South West England. We continue to pursue our reputation for delivering excellent research based around themed multidisciplinary groups and centres, exploiting existing areas of strength and developing new ones, creating strong partnerships with industry, and taking advantage of the emerging Exeter Science Park.

Research groups

Research centres

Many of our staff play an active role in the cross-disciplinary research centres, shown below: