Skip to main content


Photo of Prof Geoffrey Nash

Prof Geoffrey Nash

Director of Natural Sciences


Telephone: 01392 725867 or 01392 723909

Extension: (Streatham) 5867 or (Streatham) 3909

Geoff Nash studied Physics at the University of Bath, including a placement at the National Physical Laboratory and a final year project in underwater acoustics. After sp­ending a year in Australia, he took an MSc in Semiconductor Science and Technology at Imperial College, before returning to Bath to compete a Ph.D in solid state physics. He was awarded the Deryk Chesterman Medal for outstanding postgraduate research in 1997, and also spent periods at the Max Planck Institute in Stuttgart, both during his Ph.D and a subsequent period as a postdoctoral Fellow in Bath.

After leaving Bath he moved to the School of Electronics and Computer Science in Southampton, and then in 1999 joined DERA in Malvern (formerly The Royal Signals and Radar Establishment). In Malvern he led a multi-disciplinary research team investigating a range of novel optoelectronic devices including quantum well LEDs, and mid-infrared lasers. This work spanned relatively long term research to product development and technology exploitation, and he was heavily involved in the successful licensing of component technology. From 2003 to 2007 he held a Royal Society Industrial Fellowship.

Since joining Exeter in 2011, he has established a vibrant new, interdisciplinary, research group, obtaining significant research funding from the UK Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council, the European Research Council, and the Leverhulme Trust. His research interest includes new materials, bio-inspired movement, infrared sources, detectors and spectroscopy, and surface acoustic wave devices. 

He was instrumental in the setting up and successful launch of the flagship Natural Sciences programme, helping to define the ethos and structure of the new programme. He is currently Director of Natural Sciences and is extremely proud to be associated with such a fantastic group of students.


My Research Group

  • Dr Caroline Pouya (Research Fellow)
  • Dr Prathana Vadegadde Dakappa (Research Fellow)
  • Camilla Owens (postgraduate researcher)
  • Cheng Shi (postgraduate researcher)
  • Vicky Kyrimi (postgraduate researcher)
  • Jessica Brown (postgraduate researcher)
  • Hannah Barnard (postgraduate researcher)
  • Eleanor Osborne (research intern)
  • Ellie  Barr (research intern)